Two Hockey Players Named to All-New England Team

Strauss Mann and Nick VanBelle were named to the 2017 NEPSIHA West All-New England hockey team. The duo led the Bruins to a 16-9-5 record and a second seed in the upcoming Large School Tournament. Coach Ron VanBelle now has three D1 All-New England selections in the last two seasons, as Mann and VanBelle join Max Fuld ’16 with NEPSIHA West honors.
Strauss Mann earned first-team accolades as a goalie for the Bruins. The senior owned the second-best save percentage (.940) in New England prep hockey during the regular season. Mann had some memorable games in 2016-17 as the Bruins’ top netminder, including a valiant 53-save performance in a road win at Salisbury. That win gave head coach Ron VanBelle his 200th career victory behind the Brunswick bench. Mann had 30 or more saves in 15 games this season, including six games with over 40 stops, including the 53-save gem at Salisbury.
Nick VanBelle, a day removed from scoring his 100th point for Brunswick, was named to the second team as a forward. VanBelle wrapped up the regular season with career-highs in goals (22) and assists (22). The co-captain, bound for Williams College, improved his point production each year at Brunswick (5, 20, 31, 44). VanBelle played well in pressure situations this season, ending overtime games against Trinity-Pawling and Hotchkiss and netting the lone goal in a shootout in the semifinals of the Empire Cup, also against Trinity-Pawling.
Mann and VanBelle helped the Bruins reach the post-season for the third-straight year, as the Bruins hold the second seed in the NEPSIHA Large School Tournament. Brunswick (16-9-5) will face #7 Milton Academy (12-9-3) at Choate’s William C.S. Remsen Arena on Wednesday, March 1, at 4:30 p.m.

All New England Team (West):

1st Team
Chris Theodore - Hotchkiss
Tyler Madden - Avon Old Farms
Marshall Rifai - Hotchkiss
Nick Hale - Salisbury
Andrew Lucas - Loomis
Strauss Mann - Brunswick

2nd Team
Tyce Thompson - Salisbury
Nick VanBelle - Brunswick
Joey Cipollone - Loomis
Justin Marler - Deerfield
Kyle Koopman - Berkshire
Andrew Farrier - Taft

All New England Team (East):

1st Team
Casey Carreau - Thayer
Jay O'Brien - Thayer
Michael Lombardi - KUA
Jack Rathbone - Dexter
Reilly Walsh - Proctor
Logan Bateman - Holderness

2nd Team
Christian O'Neill - Belmont Hill
Neil Shea - Lawrence
Timmy Kent - Lawrence
Eric Jeremiah - St. Sebastian's
Mike Young - Rivers
Aidan Murphy - Dexter
    • Strauss Mann

    • Nick VanBelle

Brunswick School Greenwich, CT

  • Upper School
    100 Maher Avenue

    Pre School
    116 Maple Avenue
  • Lower & Middle Schools
    1252 King Street

    Phone: 203.625.5800
    Alumni: 800.546.9425