Closing Ceremonies Cap 2022–2023 School Year

The Brunswick community gathered in Dann Gymnasium on Tuesday, June 6, for Closing Ceremonies — an annual spring event to conclude the school year and honor students and faculty for outstanding accomplishments in the classroom, on the athletic fields, and throughout the community.
Head of School Thomas W. Philip noted that it was a great year for Brunswick School in “any way you can measure it.”

“The individual and collective successes that have been achieved — the academic achievements, the artistic presentations, the athletic victories, the lessons learned from experiences both joyous as well as challenging — all together serve to make this a year to remember.”

Philip encouraged boys to take a moment to consider all the people who made the year special for them — teachers, advisors, coaches, administrative staff, and the maintenance and kitchen staffs.

And he also thanked the boys for their efforts. 

“Thank you all for your hard work this year, for your support of each other, for your involvements beyond the classroom, and for your sportsmanship on the playing field,” Philip said.

“It is a pleasure and an honor to be among you each day.”

The event concluded with the “Moving-Up” Ceremony, as eighth-grade students were welcomed to the Upper School and juniors rose to become the senior class. 

Here are this year’s award recipients:


Eleanor G. Lindberg Award Christian Dias
Virginia I. Peterson Award William Tortorella
Sarah B. Burdett Award Bernard Sickles
Kulukundis Cup Christopher Pedlow
Geis Cup Luke Perriello
Williamson Trophy Aidan Williams


Cum Laude Gabriel Lopez
Robert MacNaughton
Andrew Tu
William A. Durkin III ’72 Alumni Award Jake Green
Ike Dolphan ’22 Award Carlo Tucci
Princeton Alumni Award Subir Garg
Columbia Book Award Charles Tortorella
Oaklawn Award William Newman
Randolph Prize Thomas Rockman
Williams Book Award Gabriel Lopez
Yale Alumni Award Casey Quinson
Harvard Book Prize Andrew Tu
Brown Book Award Thomas Whidden
Chinese Award James O’Connor
French Award Ethan Yoo
Italian Award Bennett Klein
Spanish Award Spencer Segura
Classics Award Andrew Rodriguez
Kenneth Merritt Mathematics Award Vikram Sarkar
Fairfield Biology Prize Gabriel Lopez
Rensselaer Award Robert MacNaughton
Computer Science Award Patrick Duncan
Grade Nine Service Award Townsend Bancroft
Grade Ten Service Award Oliver Velasco
Grade Eleven Service Award Jack Morningstar
Grade Nine Varsity Athletic Plaques Jake Greene
Carlo Tucci
John F. Otto Faculty Award Anthony Fischetti
Sheila Pultz Service to Brunswick Award Timothy Daly (1972-2022)



Brunswick School Greenwich, CT

  • Upper School
    100 Maher Avenue
    Office: 203.625.5856

    Lower School
    1252 King Street
    Office: 203.485.3670
  • Middle School
    1275 King Street
    Office: 203.242.1202

    Pre School
    1252 King Street
    Office: 203.485.3652

Main Phone: 203.625.5800
Business: 203.242.1220 
Alumni: 203.242.1223